27 Jan '20

Twelve school chefs advance to SCOTY National Final

LACA has revealed the twelve school chefs from across the UK who have advanced to its School Chef of the Year (SCOTY) National Final, which will take place on 5 March in Stratford-upon-Avon. SCOTY is the education catering sector’s ‘premier’ culinary skills competition. The SCOTY champion will receive a £1,000 cash prize and the LACA School Chef of the Year trophy. The second and third place will get £500 and £300 respectively. It's a competition which McDougalls is proud to sponsor and support with Premier Foods' executive chef, Mark Rigby leading the team of judges.

The ten regional winners and national finalists are:

  • Holly Charnock, employed by Sefton Catering Services and based at Woodlands Primary School in Formby (North West winner)
  • Becky Crossley, employed by North Yorkshire County Council and is based at York High School in Acomb, York (Yorkshire & Humber winner)
  • Gavin Macgregor, employed by Chartwells and is based at Jesmond Park Academy Newcastle upon Tyne (North East winner)
  • Sara Franklin, employed by Radish and is based at Campion School, Bugbrooke Northampton (East Midlands winner)
  • Lee Taylor, employed by Academy A and is based at John Gulson Primary School, Coventry (West Midlands winner)
  • Jennifer Brown, employed by Atalian Servest and is based at Sarum Academy in Salisbury (South West winner)
  • Jane Jones, employed by Denbighshire County Council and is based at Ysgol Twm O’r Nant primary school (Wales winner)
  • Annalisa Grief, employed by Norse Catering and is based at West Winch Primary School in Norfolk (East of England winner)
  • Raheem Morgan, employed by Chartwells Lewisham and is based at Coopers Lane Primary School (London winner)
  • Cheryl Humphries, employed by ISS Education and is based at High Weald Academy in Cranbrook (South East winner)

Joining the ten regional winners are two ‘wildcard entries’ who were selected by the LACA SCOTY judges. The ‘wild card’ entries have an equal opportunity of winning the title of School Chef of the Year. Congratulations to these school chefs who have been confirmed as the ‘wild card’ entries:

  • Catherine Deane, employed by Devon Norse and is based at Yealmpton Primary School (South West)
  • Wendy Lohse, employed by Caterlink and is a Relief School Chef across Caterlink’s Isle of Wight primary school sites (South East)

All Articles